When The Edj View Becomes Political


46 articles were published in the past year, excluding the anniversary articles, under the ‘Politics’ category of The Edj View. And there’s no surprise that I have been much involved in the political discourse. True to its tagline, “Raw and Unfiltered,” The Edj View aims to inform readers about the bewildering world of politics with factual information and critical analysis, especially at a time when fake news spreads more rapidly than real news.

The first article to be published under this category was a position paper on why the death penalty is ineffective in decreasing the crime rate in the Philippines. The latest article to be published was an opinion piece on why the deferment of the opening of classes this Academic Year was necessary.

The Edj View has regularly skewered President Duterte over his policies, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic. But before pro-admin supporters freak out, they must know that I do not land cheap shots on him. Instead, I try to view every issue objectively before criticizing him.

Politics in the Philippines is as messy as my hair every morning. From the senseless ‘Commute Challenge’ back in October 2019 to the mananita of NCRPO Chief Debold Sinas, we have seen the ridiculousness and pettiness of the so-called leaders who should embody the ideals of this nation. These are not isolated cases. These are absurdities that rhyme those of their predecessors. Their absurdness does not merely result in accountability but rather to unwanted forgiveness.

Somehow, the COVID-19 pandemic has unearthed the competence of our leaders. With so much time in our hands over the past five months, we now know who should we be voting for in 2022, and who shouldn’t. “It’s delicious to see incompetent politicians who are being reminded of their foolishness by the public who has a lot of time right now to access their social media accounts. Their chances of winning reelections should decrease as the future of their respective localities are at stake,” I wrote in March.

Let us teach our people again to be proud that they are Filipinos. Let us teach them to realize anew that being a Filipino means having as rich and noble a heritage of language, culture, patriotism and heroic deeds as any nation on earth. Let us teach a steadfast faith in Divine Providence, a stable family institution, the unhampered enjoyment of civil liberties, the advantages of constitutional government, the potentials of a rich and spacious land.

Carlos P. Romulo

Local Government Units (LGUs) have been paving the way to respond to this unprecedented crisis. Freshmen mayors have been working tirelessly since March to ensure that their localities are in good shape. The new breed of politicians is giving a glimmer of hope that our politics may not be that messy anymore. With their political will, they may be able to reshape our country towards the common good.

Of course, some policies need a revamp, including the Social Amelioration Program. “The beneficiaries are now in mental and financial suffering. The uncertainty of the future brought by the COVID-19 pandemic worries them on how to survive in the next few months. With the agony they’re already suffering, can’t the LGUs make their lives a little comfortable in distributing the financial aid?

I pray that LGUs can reach the May 10 deadline set by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) in issuing the first tranche of the aid,” I wrote in May after news reports surfaced about the struggles of beneficiaries in claiming the money.

The Edj View did not only focus on local politics but also on international politics. As of today, there are only six articles under the ‘International Politics’ subcategory.

Two of them were about the impeachment of US President Donald J. Trump, only the third time in America’s history. “The Democrats made a bold action to adopt two articles of impeachment. They were wary at first because, like the Republicans, they feared that their majority may lose because of it. However, by doing their jobs, they manifested integrity and decentness. Never mind if impeachment costs them politically. What’s important is that they did not look away when something wrong was being done in front of them,” I wrote back in December. “I hope that the GOP will be enlightened by the facts shoved on them. It’s not too late to hold the president accountable. The Republican Senators who will serve as the jury in the impeachment trial may be able to change the course of the country from going the wrong way to the right one.”

With the U.S. Elections looming, the president will be facing a challenger who has served as a senator for 36 years and a vice-president for 8 years. The COVID-19 pandemic has upended the traditional pomp and pageantry of the campaign. It has also destroyed the supposed strategy of Mr. Trump to frame the impeachment as a political sham. The upcoming suffrage will be highly anticipated worldwide. Will a norm-shattering president be able to defend his position without the interference of foreign entities? Or will he be defeated by an experienced politician who is respected by both political parties, Democrats and Republicans?

Just like the Philippines, America’s politics is chaotic. That’s why the impeachment trial of Mr. Trump was, as predicted, a ‘circus.’ “The political circus that Americans will be watching features a wide range of misleading statements, from debunked conspiracy theories to preposterous accusations. The president will surely interfere with the senators as they debate the merits of the accusations because he wants to be the protagonist of the newspapers’ banner headlines,” I wrote. “Social media will also be part of the political circus. Politicians will tweet horrendous claims without presenting any evidence; trolls will join the quagmire; the media will join the conversation in accordance with their political leanings; and other “analysts” will put the cherry on top.”

Besides the COVID-19 pandemic, Mr. Trump is also bugged about the Black Lives Movement that prompted social unrest across America. The death of George Floyd, who was pinned down for 9 minutes by a police officer, sparked outrage among Americans over racial discrimination and police injustice. “Decades after the Civil Rights Movement, black men continue to suffer in the hands of the police. From Eric Garner and Michael Brown’s passing to George Floyd’s killing, it seems that arresting officers haven’t learned from the scars of the past. Such aggressiveness against the black community is just appalling and heartbreaking,” I wrote in May. “Floyd’s killing is, indeed, a state of emergency.”

In the end, despite everything that is happening in the political arena around the world, one thing is for sure: we can overcome all challenges with unity and faith. In the words of Former President Gloria Macapagal – Arroyo, which I used for my Independent Day Message, “We are one great race with a glorious past. As a race and as a nation, we have survived many challenges. Now we are challenged once again to make history and tread one extraordinary path. We should be proud of the path we once trod.”

In addition, Carlos P. Romulo had this to say to the Filipino people, “Let us teach our people again to be proud that they are Filipinos. Let us teach them to realize anew that being a Filipino means having as rich and noble a heritage of language, culture, patriotism and heroic deeds as any nation on earth. Let us teach a steadfast faith in Divine Providence, a stable family institution, the unhampered enjoyment of civil liberties, the advantages of constitutional government, the potentials of a rich and spacious land.”

Featured images from Google.

49 thoughts on “When The Edj View Becomes Political

  1. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    my web page; http://zsmspb.ru/redirect?url=https://ketovibepills.com/

    Like

  2. May I simply just say what a relief to find a person that actually understands
    what they’re discussing online. You definitely
    realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More people really need to read this and understand this side of your story.
    It’s surprising you aren’t more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

    my web site http://csrhubindia.org/index.php/component/k2/i

    Like

  3. I do not even know how I stopped up right here, however I believed
    this put up used to be good. I do not know who you
    are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger in the event
    you are not already. Cheers!

    Like

  4. I believe everything composed was very reasonable.
    But, what about this? what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t good.,
    but suppose you added a headline that makes people want more?
    I mean When The Edj View Becomes Political –
    The Edj View is a little plain. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s
    home page and watch how they write post headlines to get viewers interested.
    You might try adding a video or a picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little bit
    more interesting.

    Like

  5. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super fast
    for me on Safari. Outstanding Blog!

    Like

  6. Hi there, I found your website by way of Google whilst searching for a related topic, your website came up, it seems great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just turned into aware of your weblog
    thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate for those who continue this in future.

    Many other folks will likely be benefited from
    your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  7. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for
    your weblog. You have some really good posts and
    I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want
    to take some of the load off, I’d really like
    to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

    Like

  8. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum
    it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Like

  9. I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice
    : D. Good job, cheers

    Like

  10. Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I juswt wanted to
    give a quick shout outt and say I truly enjoy reading
    your articles. Can you sugggest any oter blogs/websites/forums
    tht cover the same topics? Thanks a lot!

    Like

  11. This is really interesting, You are a vvery skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more off your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared youur site in mmy social networks!

    Like

  12. I was recommnended this blog by my cousin. I am nott sure whether this
    pos is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

    Like

  13. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of aany widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time aand
    was hoping maybee you would have some experience with something like this.

    Please let me know if yoou run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Like

  14. Attractive sewction of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession cpital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscibing to your augment and
    even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Like

  15. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much
    approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I feel that you could do with some percent to force the message house a bit, but instead
    of that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  16. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world
    but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any coding
    knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Like

  17. I have to thank you for the efforts you hzve put in writing this blog.
    I am hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.

    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me too get my own blog
    now 😉

    Like

  18. Fantastic blog! Do you have any tis and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my ownn blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platfprm like WordPress or go for a paid option? There
    are so man choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..

    Any tips? Kudos!

    Like

  19. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries
    that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

    Like

  20. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to produce
    a great article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot
    and never seem to get nearly anything done.

    Like

Leave a comment